Spain WC Team Preview

The FIFA World Cup, sometimes called the Football World Cup or the Soccer World Cup, but usually referred to simply as the World Cup, is an international association football competition contested by the men’s national teams of the members of Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA), the sport’s global governing body. The championship has been awarded every four years since the first tournament in 1930, except in 1942 and 1946, due to World War II.

The tournament consists of two parts, the qualification phase and the final phase (officially called the World Cup Finals). The qualification phase, which currently take place over the three years preceding the Finals, is used to determine which teams qualify for the Finals. The current format of the Finals involves 32 teams competing for the title, at venues within the host nation (or nations) over a period of about a month. The World Cup Finals is the most widely-viewed sporting event in the world, with an estimated 715.1 million people watching the 2006 tournament final.

Spain are one of only eight countries to ever win the FIFA World Cup, which they did at the 2010 FIFA World Cup, in South Africa. The team is one of the most present at the World Cup finals, with 13 appearances out of the 19 tournaments. Unfortunately politics has played a big part in Spain’s footballing history. Spain wanted to host the first ever World Cup in 1930 but when their bid was rejected Franco pulled the team from the tournament, which was eventually held in Venezuela. In 1938 in the midst of the Spanish Civil War the team withdrew. Following World War Two Spain was unable to qualify again until 1962, where they were not able to progress passed the group stages.

Besides the title, Spain was fourth in 1950, and reached the quarterfinals four times. The Spanish team also won three UEFA European Football Championships, in 1964, 2008 and 2012 and the Olympic football tournament in 1992. This was Spain’s first time ever at the final of a FIFA World Cup, verses their opponent Netherlands, who lost their third time at the finals.

The defending champions were unbeaten in a qualifying group that also featured France, but suffered a 3-0 loss to World Cup hosts Brazil in the Confederations Cup final last year.

Vicente Del Bosque is aiming to become only the second coach in history, after Vittorio Pozzo in the 1930’s, to win successive World Cups.

Spain’s squad contains 16 players who travelled to South Africa for their victorious 2010 FIFA World Cup run, Including 2010 World Cup final hero Andres Iniesta who remains a vital part of the star-studded Spanish midfield that will hope to lead their country to back-to-back titles. Following their opening Group B game against the Netherlands – the team they defeated in the final four years ago – Spain face Chile and Australia.

Goalkeepers: Iker Casillas (Real Madrid CF), Pepe Reina (SSC Napoli), David de Gea (Manchester United FC).


Defenders: Juanfran (Club Atlético de Madrid), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid CF), Raúl Albiol (SSC Napoli), Gerard Piqué (FC Barcelona), Jordi Alba (FC Barcelona), Javi Martínez (FC Bayern München), César Azpilicueta (Chelsea FC).


Midfielders: Sergio Busquets (FC Barcelona), Xavi Hernández (FC Barcelona), Andrés Iniesta (FC Barcelona), Cesc Fàbregas (FC Barcelona), Pedro Rodríguez (FC Barcelona), Xabi Alonso (Real Madrid CF), Koke (Club Atlético de Madrid), Santi Cazorla (Arsenal FC), Juan Mata (Manchester United FC), David Silva (Manchester City FC).


Forwards: David Villa (Club Atlético de Madrid), Diego Costa (Club Atlético de Madrid), Fernando Torres (Chelsea FC


Comments are closed.